BCANY Boys Basketball Section 9 All Stars

The Section IX Chapter of the Basketball Coaches Association of NY is pleased to announce the 2018-19 All-BCANY Teams along with awards for Sportsmanship, Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Three-point Champion, and Free Throw Champion.  Players and coaches were selected from Class AA, A, B, and C/D combined. They are listed in alphabetical order by school name.

In order to receive any BCANY award, the head coach must be a member of Association.  Nomination forms were sent to each coach and votes were tallied by a BCANY class representative.  Coaches were not able to vote for themselves, their own players, or team for any award. The Frees and Threes competition is a statistical competition with a minimum number of makes required to be considered for the award; the player with the highest regular season percentage was named the champion.   Todd Rose, BCANY Past-President, commented, “It is important to recognize the accomplishments of players and coaches for all of their hard work and talent. These awards are special because they come from the coaches across the section. The players named to All-BCANY and those that are selected for the other awards have made an impact on the opposing coaches.  I would like to congratulate all of our winners.”

BCANY is a service, advocacy, and professional development organization comprised of basketball coaches of all scholastic and collegiate levels from throughout the entire state.  Also included as associate members are students, officials, and fans. BCANY is the only organization that exists specifically for basketball coaches in New York State. BCANY takes a leadership role in providing professional development opportunities for coaches and in positively promoting our game.  “One of our main goals is to promote the good things that players and coaches are doing. I am proud to represent BCANY and applaud the work and accomplishments of our coaches and players here in Section IX,” added BCANY Deputy Executive Director, Chris Russo. BCANY is an advocate and watch-dog for our coaches, players, and game, and try to use our influence to positively improve basketball in our state.

Section IX Class AA BCANY All-Stars

Player of the Year: Brian Moore, Kingston

BCANY Class AA Player of the Year: Brian Moore

Coach of the Year: Todd Rose, Washingtonville

Class AA All-Stars

Pat O’Boyle, Burke Catholic

Jimmy Moot, Kingston

Shy’quan Royal, Kingston

Keon Gill, Middletown

Marquis Gill, Middletown

Conor Coffey, Monroe-Woodbury

Nick Memoli, Monroe-Woodbury

Caleb Simmons, NFA

Zechariah Barnes, NFA

Tim Linton, Pine Bush

Connor Fitzgibbons, Valley Central

Josiah Joseph, Warwick

Zac Goldstein, Warwick

Kareem Lubin, Washingtonville

Romeo Aquino, Washingtonville

Ryan Graham, Washingtonville

BCANY Class AA Sportsmanship Award

Valley Central

Class AA Three-Point Champion

Brian Moore, Kingston (47.9%)

Class AA Free-Throw Champion

Kareem Lubin, Washingtonville (88.3%)

Section IX Class A BCANY All-Stars

Player of the Year: Axel Rodriguez, New Paltz

Class A Player of the Year: Axel Rodriguez


Coach of the Year: Stuart Robinson, New Paltz

Class A All-Stars

Will Fredericks, Cornwall

Kyle Skivington, Cornwall

Dylan Craft, FDR

Zack Foley, Goshen

Matt Giordano, Goshen

Alex Krupinski, Minisink Valley

John Mack, Minisink Valley

Josh Gattling, Monticello

Jordan Ruggiero, Monticello

Casey Burke, New Paltz

Patrick Murphy, New Paltz

Nico Rodriguez, Port Jervis

Chris Yearwood, Red Hook

Brandon Cahill, Red Hook

Liam Schoonmaker, Saugerties

Mat Shea, Wallkill

BCANY Class A Sportsmanship Award


Class A Three-Point Champion

Matt Giordano, Goshen (46.1%)

Class A Free-Throw Champion

Mat Shea, Wallkill (82.4%)

Section IX Class B BCANY All-Stars

Player of the Year: Sivon Diconcilio, Ellenville

Class B Player of the Year: Sivon Diconcilio

Coach of the Year: Bryan Bonitz, Ellenville

Class B All-Stars

Kevin Stein, Chester

Justin Guliano, Ellenville

Jeremiah Figueroa, Ellenville

Cameron Ness, Highland

John Scalo, Highland

Juan Ayala, Fallsburg

Ashton Barrett, Liberty

Sam Mongelli, Marlboro

Anthony Musacchio, Marlboro

Darius Boben, O’Neill

Tony Njoga, O’Neill

Jake Stern, Onteora

Zack Garrant, Spackenkill

BCANY Class B Sportsmanship Award


Class B Three-Point Champion

Kevin Stein, Chester (36%)

Class B Free-Throw Champion

John Scalo, Highland (81.7%)

Section IX Class C/D BCANY All-Stars

Player of the Year: Matt Stam, S.S. Seward

Coach of the Year: Fred Ahart, Roscoe

Class C/D All-Stars

Juniper Brown, Livingston Manor

Jacob Daly, Millbrook

Patrick Kyle, Millbrook

Evan Proper, Pine Plains

Nik Breihof, Roscoe

Erick Hill, Roscoe

Grant Gravelle, SS Seward

Brandon Serrano, SS Seward

Daryll Walker, SS Seward

Gabe Campanelli, Sullivan West

Kyle Reimer, Sullivan West

BCANY Class C/D Sportsmanship Award

S.S. Seward

Class C/D Three-Point Champion

Tyler Funk, Pine Plains (49.3%)

Class C/D Free-Throw Champion

No nominations